banner banner banner banner banner banner
Local News with Jeff Lane

(Whitewater Valley)--Here's a recap of local and regional results from the 2018 General Election:

GENERAL:  A total of 20,142 people cast ballots in Wayne County for this year’s general election, and that’s almost double the 11,000 people that voted in the last midterms four years ago.  The majority of those people – about 11,000 - cast ballots before yesterday.  More than half voted straight-party tickets, with 2/3 of those voting Republican.  Voting was steady at all Wayne County polling places yesterday, although no significant waits were reported.  There was one issue…about a dozen people who said they had registered through the BMV did not appear on voter rolls.

SCHOOL BOARDS:  Here’s a look at school board races across Wayne County.  In Richmond, newcomer Keith Morey and incumbent Jeff Slifer were the top two at-large vote-getters for seats on the RCS Board.  Suzanne Derengowski also won, although she will switch to District 3.  Brad Lambright easily won the only challenged school board seat in Centerville.  At Northeastern, Eric Fields defeated incumbent Angela Cline by a nearly 2-1 margin.  Marcie Jo Houghton and Shaun Lieberman won at Nettle Creek, while Dennis Feller, Lucius Pitcock, and Phil Pflum were successful at Western Wayne.

WAYNE COUNTY COUNCIL:  Wayne County Council will have a new member.  It’s Cambridge City’s Beth Leisure, who defeated Democrat Nick Elder by more than a thousand votes in the council’s only contested race.  Three Republicans ran unopposed for council.  They include Bob Chamness, Jeff Plasterer, and Tony Gillam.

INDIANA STATE:  In state races with local impact, Brad Barrett easily won the House District 56 seat.  Jeff Raatz also won in District 27.  Republican Greg Pence defeated Democrat Jeannine Lake by nearly a 2-1 margin in the race for the Sixth District Congressional Seat.  The race for a seat in the U.S. Senate was closer.  Republican Mike Braun defeated Democrat Joe Donnelly 53-43%.  And, Connie Lawson easily won the race for Secretary of State.

PREBLE:  Nearly 16,000 people cast ballots in overwhelmingly Republican Preble County.  Rodney Creech easily won the race for county commissioner.  Various tax levies passed in Eaton, Camden, Twin Valley, New Paris, Lewisburg, and West Alexandria.  A tax levy for the Preble County Health Department failed by just 60 votes out of the almost 16,000 that were cast.

FAYETTE:  There were plenty of contested races in Fayette County.  Dale Strong won for commissioner in District 1.  Republicans Michael Wenta, Kathleen Rhoades, John Clarke, and Kayla Nobbe won council seats in Districts 1-4, and Joey Laughlin won in the race for sheriff.

RANDOLPH:  Republicans swept contested races in Randolph County.  Bob McCoy won in the race for a District 4 council seat.  Art Moyster was elected sheriff, and Jane Grove won as recorder.  None of those contested races were close.

Find Us On Facebook